Beauty · Routine · Skin Care

My Routine: December 2016

It’s a new month and another year nearly over, meaning it’s high time I actually posted some content on this blog other than a vague promise to…  Well, eventually post some content on this blog.  Look at me, following through on things!  Sort of!  Several months later.  I digress.  There was a good reason for my delay: I was attempting to finally pin down my baseline routine so I could share it with you all.  I figure for a blog primarily dedicated to Asian beauty and skin care, my first real post should probably be about the all important routine. I was in the process of figuring out which products to keep and which to excise — either because they were redundant or not working for my skin — and after months of experimentation, I believe I’ve finally crafted my standard routine!

First, a little background on me: I’m twenty-eight and I live in a sunny, humid, sub-tropical climate.  My skin is oily to normal, depending on the time of day, and I have a corpselike pallor that I will (generously) refer to as “fair” with cool undertones.   My concerns are primarily related to preventing the ravages of time from ruining me even further and battling the hormonal outbreaks that like to annex the territory of my jaw on a biweekly basis.  As such you probably won’t see me testing very many heavy or rich creams, occlusives, etc — if I do use them, they tend to be PM only.

All right, time for the main event.  I had three goals in mind when selecting a product for what I like to call my “baseline” routine:

  • Relatively easy to obtain
  • Nonirritating to my skin
  • Doesn’t cost an obscene or embarrassing amount of cash

Let’s get into it.

psx_20161214_150918

AM Routine:

Cleanser: CosRx Low pH Good Morning Gel Cleanser
First Essence: CosRx Galactomyces 95 Whitening Power Essence
Toner: Enprani Dear by Moistfull Booskin
Essence: CosRx Advanced Snail 96 Mucin Power Essence
Moisturizer: Papa Recipe Bombee Cream
Sunscreen: Biore Sarasara UV Aqua Rich Watery Essence Sunscreen SPF50+ PA+++

psx_20161215_212331-01

PM Routine:

Oil Cleanser: BanilaCo Clean It Zero: Purity
Cleanser: Sulwhasoo Snowise EX Cleansing Foam + My Konjac Sponge
First Essence: CosRx Galactomyces 95 Whitening Power Essence
Toner: Enprani Dear by Moistfull Booskin
Essence:  CosRx Advanced Snail 96 Mucin Power Essence
Ampoule: Scinic Honey All-In-One Ampoule
Moisturizer: Papa Recipe Bombee Cream
Occlusive/Sleeping Pack: Too Cool For School Pumpkin Sleeping Pack (3x a week)

I’ve been using this as my basic routine for several months now and while there aren’t any super fancy bells and whistles, it seems to be working for my skin. With the exception of the Sulwhasoo cleanser most of these products can be found for $20 or less, and the majority are available through Amazon Prime.

Spot Treatments get their own separate shout out and image because I love ’em so much. Pretty much use at least one of these every day, and generally it’s a combination of all four:

psx_20161216_100211-01

The Clean & Clear Advantage Acne Treatment helps treat blemishes directly with mild BHA. I use the Mizon Snail Recovery Gel Cream as a moisturizer/occlusive to protect the treated skin and keep it from flaking. If the pimple comes to a whitehead I lance it with a sterile needle (I use the ones intended for diabetics to use to check their insulin) and pop a CosRx patch on that sucker to drain it of its goop. The CosRx BHA Skin Returning A-Sol I use on my jaw and sometimes my cheeks as extra treatment for existing blemishes and to hopefully help prevent new ones.

And that about wraps up this post! This is just to give you an overview of my general routine. It doesn’t include any of the products I like to throw in for fun or pampering, so forgive the lack of detail. I’ll be doing one of these every few months or so to track my routine over time and note any changes to it or my skin, if there are any. Over the next few weeks (or, knowing me, the next few months or years) I’ll also be writing up reviews for most of these products, along with a few other things I’m testing out. Some might get individual reviews while others will be included in roundups, but if you have any specific questions about something don’t hesitate to reach out and let me know!

What’s your basic go-to routine, and what were your guidelines when you lovingly handcrafted it?

3 thoughts on “My Routine: December 2016

  1. How do you like the Papa Recipe cream? Since you said you don’t use heavy creams, I assume it’s not? Can you describe the texture, smell and how it sits on your skin? 😀Thanks in advance!

    Like

    1. Hey Linda! Believe it or not, the Papa Recipe cream is my first (and currently only) HG. My next post is going to be a full review of it ’cause I love it SO DAMN MUCH OMG but I’ll give you a quick rundown:

      It is the lightest, loveliest, most silky thing I have ever applied to my face. It’s sort of like… A gel cream? But not like the Mizon Snail Recovery Gel Cream which is ACTUALLY a gel (this is so confusing) in texture; the PRBC is rich, but it isn’t buttery or thick, and it absorbs the instant you smooth it on the skin. Smells like honey candy — sweet, but not overly so. I actually love the fragrance but since I’ve started my AB journey I’ve learned I’m very partial to fragrance in general, so YMMV! But I don’t think it’s strong enough to offend anyone, at least. Leaves no residue, only the everlasting joy of having bathed in its glory.

      In other words: 10/10, would highly recommend. If Memebox ships to you they’re currently selling a Papa Recipe kit for $10 which includes 10ml of the cream!

      Like

Leave a Reply

